Okay, NOW I have the internet

Originally published September 9, 2009 9:24 PM. This has been reposted from its home at http://ycool.com/post/b4m9vmg

I don’t know exactly what went wrong but I have been unable to use my internet for a few days. I thought for sure the connection wasn’t working but then someone came over tonight and pressed some buttons and voila! I’m connected to the internet. I don’t know what he did that I hadn’t been doing but somehow he got it to work!

So now you are all DAYS behind on my adventures. If I had been keeping my journal consistently as I told myself I would it would be much easier to update you but alas, I am a great procrastinator. Now I have a million and three things I want to tell you all about and don’t know what to start nor do I really have the time tonight.

I am teaching my first classes in the morning! I am excited. I will have 3 classes of 5th graders and as they have given me no textbooks for these kids yet, I can pretty much do whatever I want. Hmm… I wonder if these kids are up for the hokey pokey…

The school I work for is called ZiBo (that’s the name of this city) Global Language School and is not so much a school as it is a place that demanding parents send their overworked children after school or on weekends to improve their English. The Chinese are very serious about their schooling and I have been told to make my lessons as fun as possible and to set very little homework as these poor kids already have plenty on their plates.  I really only teach directly for the school on the weekends. During the week I will travel to different public schools to teach classes, which is what I’ll be doing tomorrow.

It looks like I will not be able to attend church while I am here as Sundays are the busiest days at ZiBo Global Language School (hereafter to be referred to as ‘Global’) and I must teach classes all day and the nearest branch is quite a journey away. I will do my best to worship on my own.

I must get to bed now but I think I will have free time tomorrow evening to recap the last few days for all my loyal fans. Sorry for the long wait, I hope I can make it worth your while!

Categories: ChinaSharah reposts | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

